the Dune Buggy Archives
DBA Forum - Not logged in
Previous Next Up Topic Engines / Subbug - Subaru Power / why modify oil pan (9602 hits)
By michael c #69 Date 2007-07-22 22:10
I'm new to this subject of subaru power what would be involved in puting one in a rail buggy for street use what trany  bus or sedan  and why do you modify oil pan probably more questions to ask but any input appreciated thanks mike
By Terry F Date 2007-07-23 08:19
The Subaru hangs down nearly four inches lower than the VW motor when bolted to the VW transaxle which reduces ground clearance dramatically. The modified oil pan from Outback Motorsports is approximately one and one half inches shorter than the OEM Subaru pan which helps reduce the chance of striking a rock or other hard object. I think Paul is going to start offering shortened oil pans and his may be a tad shorter than Outbacks...
Terry
By @Jeff GS Date 2007-07-23 11:40
In addition to what Terry said - the transaxle.  A built T1 trans should be fine for all but an all-out race car.  For sand or serious off road use you'd probably want to step up to a T2 trans, but it'll need to be gone through as well.  That's an area to discuss with your trans builder.

The EJ25 makes around 165 ft/lbs of torque, while the turbo motors make in the low 200 range on boost.

You'll also need a cooling system, EFI compatible fuel system, and ECU to control ignition and EFI.

Jeff
By Paul Moran (DBA Architect) Date 2007-07-26 03:53
I did finish my first shortened pan earlier this month.  After finding one pin hole with a leak test, it didn't leak at all after a week of abuse, err - testing, in the dunes.  I'll have to remeasure how much I took off the bottom (I modeled the cut after the pan shortened by Leading Edge).