the Dune Buggy Archives
DBA Forum - Not logged in
Previous Next Up Topic Public / General Discussion / NEW WIRING HARNESS.....!! (8360 hits)
By bob P 3255 Date 2014-04-07 21:49
I am removing all the wiring from my '68 Road Runner Dune Buggy. There original harness came from the '58 beetle donor car. To say it is a mess would be an understatement. So, I want to start over. Problem is I am not good at automotive wiring. 

I checked into Painless Wiring, but the cost is out of sight.  Has anyone tried any other company that makes wiring harnesses and how many fuse outlets would I need for a Street Buggy?  I have turn signals, headlights, ignition switch, brake lights, radio, cigarette lighter outlet,  dimmer switch, speedometer, 2 gauge lights, wiper motor and a dashlight. No heater or AC.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Attachment: THEYLLCOME.jpg (176.6k)
By Jeffrey P 655 Date 2014-04-07 22:15
Try Rebel. They make a quality harness with good support.

For a basic buggy I would say 8 circuits. 10-12 would not be excessive.
By Kellison Jim Date 2014-04-07 23:27
Kellison Jim
By bob P 3255 Date 2014-04-08 00:45
Thanks Jeffery & Kelison Jim,

I going to order the 9+3 kit tomorrow. Sounds like just what I had in mind. This "Lil' Bugger" will be back on the road this summer thanks to fellas like you guys. Even goin' to give her a new coat of paint. It sat all last summer while I was recovering from a major heart attack so I had the engine rebuilt, then I decked it all out in chrome and now can't wait to drive it for the 46th year. Just re-installed the engine and now tearing into the wiring.

Once upon a time (like when I was young) I drove it into my shop, pulled the engine and replaced it with another and drove it out in 28 minutes flat. Those days are gone. This time took me nearly 4 hours.  But I did it alone..!!

THANKS AGAIN...................................
By bob P 3255 Date 2014-04-08 17:12