the Dune Buggy Archives
DBA Forum - Not logged in
Previous Next Up Topic Public / Dune Buggy Build Advice / How do I identify my distributor? (9570 hits)
By Nick R 2948 Date 2012-01-10 23:46
I went on-line to buy some tune-up parts and found that there is more than one type of distributor.  How do you know which one you have.  My engine is a 1967 1500cc type 1 with points/condenser and vacuum advance.  I see on some websites they are using 009 as some sort of identification.  Can someone tell me how I can identify the distributor I have so I can order the right tune up parts?
By Jeffrey P 655 Date 2012-01-11 02:24
There should be numbers on the side of it. Also, it will not have a vacuum advance canister.
By Nick R 2948 Date 2012-01-11 02:48
Uh Oh!  I have a vacuum advance on mine with a line going to the intake manifold just under the carburetor.  Maybe mine isn't stock or someone changed it out somewhere along the line.  I can't find any numbers on mine.  It was timed pretty good, let me mark it before I pull it off and look for numbers.  What are the numbers that I should be looking for?  BTW, thanks for the reply!
By ManxBug Date 2012-01-11 03:08
Stock distributors have a vac advance canister and hook up to the carb. A 009 is mechanical advance and does not need a vacuum line. They are used primarily if you have a dual carb setup.

There are newer distributors that have both vacuum and mechanical advance.

The numbers on the side can be used to identify what you have but typically if it's Bosch I think there are just 2 types of caps. 1 for 009 and 1 for all others.
By Nick R 2948 Date 2012-01-11 13:55
Thanks for the advice, I think I can move forward now and start ordering parts.  I was able to contact the guy I bought it from and he said it was a stock Bosch unit, original equipment for that motor.  Thanks for the education on the 009 mechanical units.  All you guys Rock!
Previous Next Up Topic Public / Dune Buggy Build Advice / How do I identify my distributor? (9570 hits)

Powered by mwForum 2.10.2 © 1999-2007 Markus Wichitill