the Dune Buggy Archives
DBA Forum - Not logged in
Previous Next Up Topic Engines / Subbug - Subaru Power / In my mind's eye.... (3627 hits)
By Don L 1157 Date 2008-11-29 02:25
Hi Guys,

I'm a high school teacher, and as I contemplate the few years left until retirement I continue to baby my twenty year old Jeep Cherokee.  It might or might not last until I retire, but I see in my mind's eye new wheels. 

I'm looking at a tube steel, sand rail, kind of frame.  Barrien has a 115 inch frame and Beeline a 120 inch.  Either of these would do.  A mid-engine arrangement would be my most preferred set-up, as this vehicle will be on the road (street legal) more than off.  The Subaru 2.5L drive train is at the top of the list with a combination of reliability, availability, and low cost.  I would anticipate installing the complete unit into the rear end of my frame.  With bad knees, I'm leaning toward the automatic transaxle....it would be a bummer to bend my wheels because I couldn't clutch!!  I haven't looked at the details yet, but intend to use Subaru spindles and disc brakes installed on the VW front suspension.

Now, where I live in West Virginia, we get so much snow in the winter that we have (on average) more days off school due to weather that any other county in the state.  That means an enclosed, heated cockpit to keep this aging pilot warm, and dry.  This may be fiberglass over foam or thin plywood.  Alternately, I could use the synthetic fabric used in private aviation to cover wing surfaces over a frame work of wood, metal, or carbon-fiber.  Money and man-hours will decide!

Understanding that this vehicle will be my primary transportation, it will have two seats up front, and a platform between the front seats and the engine area, enclosing the platform inside the cabin, and be used for groceries, luggage, or my two semi large dogs.  Fenders.....think the front end of a Harley Electro Glide, or what you might see on a tricked out 23-T Bucket.